Home > Event > Online: Going deeper into the Burning House

Online: Going deeper into the Burning House

Online: Going deeper into the Burning House
Sep
1

About the course

This is a course for Dharmafarers concerned about the climate, and eco-activists wishing to ground their work in a spiritual context. It continues on from An Introduction to the Burning House (May-June 2022). In Part Two: Going deeper into the Burning House, we’ll offer:

  • Support to process your responses to the climate and ecological emergency in a safe environment.
  • Support in making the the climate and ecological emergency part of your Dharma practice. How do you decide to get involved?
  • Support for eco-activists to avoid burnout: training in nonviolence, love and wisdom.
Shantigarbha leading a meditation for marchers at COP26 in Glasgow, November 2021

What to expect from Part 2

The course follows the Buddhist path from self-development to social change, inspired by the profound principle of nonviolence, or love. In Part 2 the topics are as follows: 

● Week one: The Burning House
● Week two: Anger, grief and gratitude
● Week three: Transforming self and world
● Week four: Be the change

Dates

1, 8, 15, 22 September 2022.

Sessions (2 hrs 15 mins, with break): USA PST 11:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India: 23:30 | Australia AEDT 04.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 06.00 (next day).

About the trainer

Shantigarbha is a Buddhist mediator and activist. He is an experienced teacher of both Buddhism and Nonviolent Communication (NVC). Ordained into the Triratna Buddhist Order in 1996, he was given the name Shantigarbha, which means ‘Seed or Womb of Peace’. Through his practice of Buddhism, he came across NVC and has been sharing it as a certified trainer since 2004.

Within the Triratna Buddhist Community, he holds responsibilities as an Order Convenor, a member of the International Council and supporting restorative practices.

He has trained members of Extinction Rebellion in Nonviolence and De-escalation skills.

Find out more about Shantigarbha.

Fees

We are offering this course in the spirit of Gift Culture. For more information, see Registration link below.

Registration

The Buddhist Center Online is hosting this course. To reserve a place for Part 2 only, please go to the Eventbrite registration form.

To reserve a place for Parts 1 & 2 together, please go here.

Top